Home EDUCATION COLLEGES List of Universities in Ogun State (Federal, State and Private)

List of Universities in Ogun State (Federal, State and Private)

Men's Fashion Category Women's Fashion Category

We’ll be sharing the list of universities in Ogun State, Nigeria.

Ogun State proudly has the highest number of tertiary institution in Nigeria.

Let’s quickly talked about Ogun state.

Ogun state was created by the then regime of General Murtala Mohammed on the 3rd of February 1976 and it is located in the southwestern part of Nigeria, its borders are Lagos state to the south, Ondo state to the east, Osun and Oyo state to the north and the Republic of Benin to the West.

Naija Shopping Festival

The state is known to have the first and only University of Education in Nigeria, the highest registered private universities, and a lot more.

List of Universities in Ogun State

This is the list of Universities in Ogun state

Federal Universities

  • Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta (FUNAAB):

The Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB) was established as a specialised University on January 1, 1988 by the Federal Government of Nigeria with a tripodal mandate of Teaching, Research and Extension Services.

The land area of FUNAAB cover about 10,000 hectares in the North Eastern end of Abeokuta, the capital of Ogun State. The university has 179 academic programmes made up of 44 undergraduate programmes, 135 graduate programmes which include 22 Postgraduate diploma programmes, 57 Masters degree programmes and 56 Doctorate degree programmes.

State Universities

  • Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU), Ayo Iwoye:

Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye is a state (owned and operated) university in Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State, Nigeria.

The university was founded July 7, 1982 as Ogun State University (OSU) and was renamed Olabisi Onabanjo University on May 29, 2001 in honour of Chief (Dr.) Olabisi Onabanjo, whose efforts as the then civilian governor of Ogun State gave birth to the university.

Meanwhile, many students still refer to the institution as OSU, an acronym for the former name.

  • Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology Abeokuta:

Moshood Abiola Polytechnic also known as MAPOLY is a tertiary learning institution in Abeokuta, Ogun State, Nigeria. The Ojere campus is in the South-Eastern part of Abeokuta, covering about 960 hectares of rolling land bounded by the Ogun River to the south.

Though, the university is still very known as Moshood Abiola Polytechnic or MAPOLY.

  • Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED) Ijebu Ode

The university was named after the Nigerian educational administrator and human rights activist Tai Solarin (1922–1994). It is the 76th approved university in Nigeria.

The Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED, pronounced TARSUD), was proclaimed a full-fledged university (and a transformation of the erstwhile Tai Solarin College of Education, established January 1978), on 29 January 2005 by the administration of His Excellency, Otunba Gbenga Daniel.

Private Universities

  • Chrisland University
  • Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo
  • Bells University of Technology, Otta
  • Covenant University Ota
  • Crescent University
  • Hallmark University, Ijebi Itele, Ogun
  • Crawford University Igbesa
  • Mcpherson University (MCU), Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo
  • Mountain Top University (MTU)
  • Trinity University Ogun State
  • Christopher University Mowe
  • Southwestern University, Oku Owa

These are the total universities in Ogun state.

Read Also: Top 10 Best Universities of Education in Nigeria (2020)

5K Store

Kindly drop your comment here